Friday, 22 August 2014

Nigeria Police Promotes, Redeploys Officers: DCP Ojukwu Replaces ACP Frank Mba As PRO

The Acting Inspector-General of Police, Suleiman Abba, has appointed DCP Emmanuel Ojukwu as the new Force Public Relations Officer to replace ACP Frank Mba who has been redeployed to Lagos State Command as an Area Commander, Area J, Ajah.

ACP Mba was the Force Public Relations Officer from February 2012 to August, 2014.
Until his new assignment, DCP Emmanuel Ojukwu was the Deputy Commissioner of Police in charge of
Criminal Investigations Department at Zone 7 Headquarters, Abuja.

The new spokesman is stepping into a familiar terrain, having distinguished himself as the Force PRO from
December 2008 to October 2010.
He holds B.Sc degree in Psychology from the University of Nigeria, Nsukka and M.Sc in Psychology from the
University of Lagos. He is a member of Nigeria Institute of Public Relations (NIPR), Chairman Association of
Nigerian Authors, Abuja, President of the University of Nigeria Alumni Association, Abuja.

ACP Mba while handing over the baton, thanked the IGP for the new assignment given to him and urged the media and the public to extend maximum cooperation to the new spokesman.
Responding, the new Force PRO promised to work to increase the tempo of good relationship between the Police and the public in line with the policy thrust of the Nigeria Police Force.

He called on members of the public and the media to grant the same level of goodwill and cooperation necessary for his success in office. The new Force PRO harped on the slogan “The Police is your helper and friend.”

Also the Police Service Commission, in continuation of its resolve at repositioning the Nigeria Police Force for optimal productivity has approved the deployment of AIG Bala A. Hassan, formerly AIG from Zone 10, Sokoto to the Force Headquarters as the new Force Secretary.
He takes over from Dan’Azumi Job Doma who was recently elevated to the rank of Deputy Inspector –General of Police. The deployment is with effect from 19th August, 2014.

The appointment of the Force Secretary follows Tuesday’s promotion of 19 new Assistant Inspectors General of Police by the Commission. They are CP Ambrose O. Aisibor, formerly CP Kwara state, CP
Adebayo Ajileye, one time CP Legal, Umaru Abubakar Manko, formerly CP Lagos state, CP Joel Kayode Theophilus, formerly CP Jigawa state, CP Wilfred Eje Obute, and CP Felix Osita Uyanna.
Others are CP A. J. Abakasanga, CP Jubril Olawale Adeniji, CP Ibrahim M. Maishanu, CP Godfrey E. Okeke,
CP Chintua Amajor-Onu, formerly CP Homicide, CP Lawal Tanko, CP Usman Akila Gwarry, CP Kalafite Helen Adeyemi, CP Yahaya Garba Ardo.

Also promoted are CP Irimiya F. Yerima, formerly Commandant Police College, Ikeja, CP Olufemi A. Adenaike, formerly CP Kaduna, CP Mbu Joseph Mbu, formerly CP in charge Rivers and FCT and Patrick Dey Dokumor, formerly CP in charge Federal SARS.

Disclosing that all the appointments are with effect from 20th August, 2014, the PSC said the promotions became necessary to fill the vacancies created by recent retirements/promotions in the Force and to re-invigorate and reposition Zonal and other Commands headed by AIGS, to help tackle the country’s current security challenges.

The promotion of the new AIG’s assigning of positions to the new Deputy Inspectors General with DIG Dan’azumi Job Doma appointed DIG 2i/c to the IGP.
DIG Solomon Arase is the DIG in charge Force Criminal Investigations Department (FCID), DIG Hilary Opara is the DIG in charge Administration and Finance, DIG Sotonye Wakama is the DIG in charge of Operations, DIG
Mamman Tsafe is the DIG in charge Works and Logistics.

Others are DIG Christopher Katso, DIG in charge of ICT (InfoTech), DIG Salihu Argungu, DIG in charge of Training while DIG David Omojola is DIG in charge Research and Planning.